

# Office of the Chief MEMORANDUM

**DATE**: January 19, 2017

**TO:** Board of Fire Commissioners

**FROM:** Brian Gorski, Chief

**RE:** Officers, Appointed Officials, and Chairman Appointments

### **ELECTION OF OFFICERS**

Chapter 191 F.S. requires that the Board of Fire Commissioners organize by electing from its members a chair, vice chair, secretary and treasurer.

Additionally, the Board elects members to serve as the representative and alternate to the Manatee County Fire Commissioners' Association and representatives on the Chapter 175 Pension Board.

<u>Position</u> <u>Current</u>

Chairman of the BoardCommissioner DurantVice ChairmanCommissioner CenterSecretaryCommissioner MarkenTreasurerCommissioner EvansMCFComA RepresentativeCommissioner CenaMCFComA AlternateCommissioner Evans

Pension Board Representatives John Somers, K.C. Corigliano

## **APPOINTED OFFICERS (By the Board)**

<u>Position</u> <u>Current</u>

Registered Agent Debbie Tuckerman
Records Custodian Debbie Tuckerman

### OTHER APPOINTED OFFICIALS

The Commissioners may make other appointments of officials necessary for the conduct of fire district business which may include, but not be limited to:

PositionCurrentAttorney (General/Legislative)Maggie Mooney-Portale, Persson & Cohen, PAAttorney (Labor)Karen Morinelli, Ogletree Deakins Nash Smoak<br/>& Stewart P.C.AuditorStroemer & StroemerMedical DirectorDavid Nonell, M.D.Department PhysicianJoseph M. Soler, M.D. (RETIRED)

## **CHAIRMAN APPOINTMENTS**

The Chairman may appoint commission members and staff to committees, boards, and to other associations to represent the fire district. Additionally, the Chairman may appoint commission members to serve as board liaison to the fire chief in matters of General Administration, Insurance, Safety, Legislation, Maintenance of Buildings and Grounds, and Maintenance of Vehicles and Equipment.

<b>Position</b>		<u>Current</u>
General Administration		Commissioner Center
Insurance		Commissioner Cena
Safety		Commissioner Marken
Legislative		Commissioners Center/Marken
Buildings and Grounds		Commissioner Evans
Vehicles and Equipment		Commissioner Durant
Committees: Vehicle Specifications	Commissioner Durant Chief Gorski	Battalion Chief Blanco
Insurance		Commissioner Cena Chief Gorski Deputy Chief Bounds Executive Management Asst. Tuckerman